Lily and Orchid

0l1b

0orchid1

Well, I am officially on Spring Break. The past few weeks have been pretty hectic. I had two tests this week, one final, and a project due. I got a 95 on the final. A 98 and 93 on the tests. And a 93 on the project. So, it was worth buckling down and studying. I also had a birthday on Monday. I am 39 years old now. There are other women in my classes who are around my age. Lately I have been wanting to photograph them.  It is a different experience, I think, going to school as a person 35+. I am sure they have different reasons for it. Some may want to advance in their careers. Others, like a woman in one of my classes, just felt something was missing in her life. I think it could be an interesting project. I do not have all the details mapped out yet, but I usually discover most of that along the way. Anyway, it may be a good summer project for me.

I finally have some extra time to catch up on blogs and clean my house, so that is what I am doing today. Hope everyone is enjoying their weekend.

 

 

25 thoughts on “Lily and Orchid

  1. First : Happy Birthday. Second: congrats for your tests and project. Third: I like the colors in the second photo, the combination yellow on yellow and the contrast fuchsia (and green) against yellow work very well giving a strong visual emotion.
    robert

  2. Great images and congrats on your academics. My first degree appeared when I was 40. It made me hungry to keep growing and learning so it was well worth it. Keep it up!

  3. Love the color palette. I studied in my thirties too and found I was far more focused then my first time at university. I’d love to see your class mates and read interviews about their lives.

    • Yes, I think you are right –there is more focus. I often see the younger people in my class texting, looking at facebook, etc. Before my test the other day, one of my classmates admitted she had not studied. She said the same thing about the first test. Often I think the older students are more prepared. I am going to start asking people about photos after Spring Break.

  4. Happy Birthday!
    Those are fantastic grades. Being the older student certainly has its advantages. We’re better at studying and have better focus.

Discuss

