Balance

0LC15

I took this shot this morning. It is sort of a metaphor for where I am at in my life right now. I’m trying to balance family, school, and art. I’m only taking 12 credit hours, but when you have a 13-year old daughter (and ALL her friends!), a spouse, domestic and financial responsibilities, plus the responsibility of your art making, which includes making but also observing, reading, and experimenting, well, it can feel a bit like a balancing act. I have structured my time fairly well. I wake up at about 7 a.m. in the morning and allow myself to do art until my first class, which is either at 11 a.m. or noon. After that, it’s classes, home duties, dinner, and family time until about 7p.m. Then it’s homework/family. Usually I am finishing up at about 9-10, but I also read for my classes in bed before I go to sleep at around midnight.

 

17 thoughts on “Balance

  1. Great metaphor! Life is a balancing act right now for me too…..your image is a perfect reminder that it can be done, we can achieve balance if we work at it. Excellent image! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Lovely photo, and good for you for managing all that! I also went to school while managing job and family . . . not easy, but very worth it!

Discuss

