Image

Jacob

0jb1b

I am back to using my 50mm for portraits. It is my favorite portrait lens. I was trying other lenses for a while, 60mm, 105mm, even a 28mm, but this 50mm 1.4 is so reliable and just excellent with natural light. I also had to use a reflector, but angled it so it was mostly hitting just above the cheekbones.  By using the reflector more subtly and specifically, I can get a richer tonal variety in the skin that helps give the face more dimension.

This was the first time I have photographed Jacob. He is over for a Halloween party. The kids are going to watch scary movies, carve pumpkins, and play games.

10 thoughts on “Jacob

Discuss

