Dunes

0AM1B

My favorite spot in Nag’s Head was definitely the dunes. I barely spent any time on the beach, but I went to the dunes three times. The first time I went alone at about 7:30 a.m. I walked for an hour before I saw another person. I fell in love with the purity of its barrenness and the simplicity of its forms. I visited again in the evening, with Jack, our friends, and the girls. There were many more people, and I was disappointed in how they had trampled all over the lovely sand etchings. This morning, I woke up at 6 a.m. and went back. Unfortunately, there was not enough wind at night to smooth out the surface again. My favorite visit remains the first one, when the only tracks in the sand were my own or little birds and animals.

The shots above are two completely different ones. I am not even sure it is the same location. Both were shot in landscape, but when I was sorting them into groups I noticed how one could easily be the continuation of the other, even if it really wasn’t, and this made sense to me on an intuitive level when thinking about the dunes.

27 thoughts on “Dunes

  1. HA! I was thinking the same thing. This would make a cool indie band album cover.

    I haven’t been in that area in 20 years but it’s gorgeous

  2. Fantastic. Happy accidents are always appreciated. I think what really makes the set is the handprint. Breaks up the flow just right. And provides a reminder of our place in nature.

Discuss

