Mysteries

So, this morning I am driving to the river and I make a wrong turn. I pull into a driveway to turn around and out of the corner of my eye I see Cuddles. I look again and it is not Cuddles, but I have very good reasons to suspect this is Cuddle’s dad …

0cuddles-dad

I’ve been investigating the situation to find out where she came from. I live in the country and word spreads … especially when you have a teenage daughter. Well, Caroline’s friend’s stepdad claims that Cuddles mother was a pitbull down the street from where he lived. The dog had pups and they just disappeared. She only had two pups. Her owners claimed she had carried them off somewhere. The father, supposedly, was a pitbull a few houses down. I have checked out the mother. She looks nothing like Cuddles, but does resemble the boy pup. She is dark brindle. The above dog, however, looks very much like Cuddles. And he lives a few houses down from where the mother lives. Not only is he the same color as Cuddles, his bark is identical to Cuddles.

cudd-dad2

It is ironic that this happened today because this weekend is the 1 year anniversary of finding Cuddles. She was found Saturday afternoon, August 4th. Regardless of whether the story is true or not about her mother carrying the pups off — (how conveniently humanlike that the mother dog knew to drop two pups in a ditch on the side of the road) — I am glad Cuddles is with me. I have some photos and a video for her 1 year rescue anniversary, which I will be posting this weekend.

Cuddles

Cuddles

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “Mysteries

    • I heard a rumor lately that they are going to enforce a chain law in the city. People won’t be allowed to do it, anymore. I’m not sure how true it is, or if it is even possible to enforce. Some people put their dogs on a chain for an hour or so because they don’t have a fence, others leave them on the chain for life. There is a big difference between the two, imo.

      • Jen, all the sled dogs here are chained for life and to boredom until they get to sled. Then, when they run by you, they all have this intense excitement about them and huge grins on their faces and they run like the wind. I feel badly about their lives in chains, but don’t know what else could be done here. There are no fenced yards where we live.

    • The law seems like a good idea in theory, but I wonder if it will increase the amount of animals that end up in shelters. It is just a rumor at this point, so we’ll see.

  1. I can’t stand see dogs treated that way, but we can’t legislate kindness. I hope the dog’s guardian dies a slow and miserable natural death after the dog has been freed. I don’t know if there is that kind of karma, but there should be.

  2. Have you considered putting cuddles with her dad and see how they react? or dogs won’t recognize their parents? come to think of it I don’t I’d be able to recognize my parents if no one told they were my parents 🙂

Discuss

