Reverie

0h4c

 

I swear, sometimes the title of a post is so difficult. I have sacrificed a few posts for lack of a title. I have several nameless and forgotten drafts buried in the archives. When I am really struggling for a title, I reach behind me and grab a book of poetry. Sometimes it helps to read a few poems. Today, it worked, but not without flipping through a few books. I love Baudelaire, but he is not so great for title inspiration, unless you want something like, “Get Drunk!” or “Don Juan in Hell.”Β Anyway … Cavafy to the rescue.

I tried a dozen textures on this image, but I preferred it without one. I did add the design on top. I used a calligraphy brush for that. I am using different types of brushes more often, especially when blending a texture or a layer. A different brush can give the blend a more interesting look. But this was a simple b&w conversion with typical adjustments. I added the design after trying on endless textures, painting, and deciding against each one. I liked the clean and smooth background. It just flows better with her pose and the tones. I was undecided about the calligraphy stroke and almost decided against it too, but in the end, I liked its quirkiness.

 

 

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Reverie

  1. I like Don Juan in Hell. I would read anything with that in the lead.

    She;’s lovely and I like the light shadowing. well done, grounded Jen

    • Haha! Baudelaire is wonderful. He is just so naughty! πŸ˜€

      And yes, I am happy to have both feet on the ground. Maybe because the rest of me is often someplace else, lol.

Discuss

