Versions 2

Versions of Caroline

Versions of Caroline

I am back to working on “versions.” For these images, I use one source image and alter it with textures, composites, collage, and painting in photoshop. I have been doing more composites with Caroline’s versions. Both of the backgrounds here are photographs of mine and then I paint in textures. The colored image has three different textures. The black and white has two textures. I use various blend modes with the textures to get different effects. I am just fascinated by the idea that I can create numerous images from one source image. Of course, by the time I get done I am really using several images. I used a portrait of Breanna in my first experiment with versions. I ended up making 15+ versions and narrowed it down to nine.

BREE

Versions of Breanna

Tomorrow I am photographing Christina. Hopefully I will get a shot that I can use for my next set.

15 thoughts on “Versions 2

    • Thanks! I have a lot of fun with them. I suppose I really started playing with the idea when I was scanning the darkroom prints and messing with them digitally … lol, I just realized that! πŸ™‚

  1. Fascinating. Both the shots of Caroline are brilliant. I can imagine how you could really get into this and then, after a few days, your family would send a search party.

  2. These are definitely fun to see. The BW version of Caroline is strong. For Breanna, the complex one in the upper rt hand corner is interesting – I wanted to see it larger. The one under that is nice too – pretty colors! And the orange & purple one, on the left – very strong! They must be pleased. (They’d better be pleased and not take this for granted!)

    • Thank you! πŸ™‚ Yes, it is sort of hard to see the details in them. I used to have a feature where if you clicked on an image, it would open in a new window as a larger version, but I don’t think this new theme supports it.

Discuss

