Two Versions

0BREA-COLL-1

0bree4b

So these two images are from the same original image, but obviously processed very differently. A few days ago, I pulled this image from a folder and made a version, then another, and that is what I have been doing ever since. I have ten different versions of this image. I would say six so far succeed in the sense that they look completely different. Four of them are too similar to others.

For these versions of Breanna, I have used a variety of methods including: textures, collage, composites, painting (in PS), and many, many layers. Some images have 20+ layers. All have multiple textures. Most of those textures are altered in PS. I get the textures online for free. There are dozens of free texture websites, but it can be time consuming to find what you are looking for. Sometimes I use a piece of a texture instead of the whole thing, but other times I use it all.

Anyway, it is interesting to me that I can create so many different images from just one source. I have a few more to finish up for this portrait series and then I plan on starting another one.

 

 

28 thoughts on “Two Versions

    • Thanks, Dave! That one was interesting to make and I learned something new by making the paint streak, which took me about ten different tries, lol. 🙂 Hope you enjoy the weekend!

  1. if the first photo is a textureapplying freckles, thank you for reminding me how much i like them so much. and thank you also for liking my poem, the encouragement is always really appreciated. 🙂

  2. I prefer the first version. The second looks like you are still dabbling with it 🙂

    the first is very clean, I like how it accentuates the freckles and the great expression on her face

  3. It’s great that you’re playing around so freely. I like the “stuff” in the background of the first one – and of course the face, so well done! I love the bits of color (and such a great choice of colors) on the second one, and the faded look. Not 100% sure I like the diagonal lines as much, but overall what can I say – you’re doing great work.

Discuss

