Speedshaver

0exshaver6

This morning, I was playing around with using scanned prints.  I took the original photograph of the shaver on film and printed it in the darkroom. Then I scanned the print and opened it up into Photoshop. I put it through Nik Silver Efex, which is a black and white conversion plug-in. Next, I added a texture layer. I went on Google Images and looked up “old photograph textures” that I thought that would go with the retro shaver. There were many to choose from. If you try this, make sure to get them large–1000+ pixels if possible. It seems to hold together better when it is transformed.

0exshaver2

Some texture layers I used very subtly, like the one above. I just tried different blending modes. Soft Light, Overlay, and Screen seemed to work best. It also makes a difference where the layer is located in the stack. I could get different effects by placing my background copy on top of the texture, for example, and adjusting the opacity or blending mode. 0exshaver4

Anyway, another idea on how to use prints from the darkroom in a fun and creative way. I have not been to the darkroom for over a month, but this little experiment has re-sparked my interest, and hopefully I can get in there next week sometime. It does feel like a lot of work just to produce one image, –film to darkroom to scanner to photoshop to ? — but maybe I have just grown accustomed to the instant gratification of digital.

12 thoughts on “Speedshaver

    • Thanks, David! Glad I put up a few variations to get an idea of which worked best. Maybe with these, it is better to push the idea of processing, and make it really obvious, rather than be subtle about it.

  1. That’s the thing with digital processing – so MANY choices! And choosing to photograph on film, then scan & use the Nik Silver – that’s a deviation from the “norm” isn’t it? Because the Nik is usually assumed to be used with digital images, which are captured in color in the camera, then transformed to B&W, etc, etc, etc! I think I agree that pushing makes more sense with most of these, but who knows? Really, it depends on what you’re looking for in each individual image, no?

    • Hahaa! Yes, it is a “process” to make one of these, lol. 😀 I definitely will let the image dictate the processing, but in most cases, I lean toward subtle effects, just by default, and with these, I may go the other way. Not to say they will all have the same amount, but I won’t shy away from the obvious.

Discuss

