Film Noir

Jack has been really into film noir lately, so this is my contribution to his obsession …

0neck-b7I have been doing a lot of self-portraits in the past few days, not sure why, maybe I am just bored of still life. I did a series today that is sort of interesting, also pretty strange. I don’t really consider these new ones self-portraits, though. They are different.

Tonight I went to the Carolina Artist Photo Expo 2013. Some of you may recall the “Dance Hall” from the Mill? That image won Best of Show! I was super happy and surprised. I also won 1st in color photography for “Blueberries and Yellow Tulips.” I got some cash for the 1st place in color, and for Best of Show I had a choice and went with The Complete Nik Software Collection. I am very excited about the Nik collection. Here is the software and descriptions …

The Complete Collection contains:

  • Dfine 2.0 – Best-in-class noise reduction to improve the quality of virtually every photo.
  • Viveza 2 – Powered by U Point® technology, Viveza 2 is the most powerful and precise tool available to globally or selectively control light and color in photographs without the need to create complicated selections or layer masks.
  • HDR Efex Pro 2 – Powerful controls for creating exceptional natural and artistic images.
  • Color Efex Pro 4 Complete Edition – The photographer’s choice for photographic filters.
  • Silver Efex Pro 2 – The world’s leading black and white imaging software.
  • Sharpener Pro 3.0 – The most advanced, powerful, and complete sharpening solution for photographers.

I’m thrilled! I love new software. Jack and I arrived a little late to the show because he was stuck at the office, but I ended up meeting and talking with a few local photographers. That was the reason I entered, to meet a few new people. I met one photographer who worked for Life Magazine and was the first staff photographer for Time. He also shot for National Geographic. It was neat talking with him.

I also learned about a photography group in Charlotte and I think I will start participating. It will give me a way to meet people who enjoy doing what I enjoy doing. I have looked at their schedule and they have meetups several times a month. I will try to get to one this month.

Tomorrow, I may go to the botanical gardens just for a change of pace, and to be around some greenery.

25 thoughts on “Film Noir

  1. Congratulations – and a great choice (Nik). Some of their tools are really amazing. of these I’ve used silver effex pro (trial) and viveza and loved them both.

    • Thank you, bro! I have not tried the color effex, can’t wait! I love the silver effex. It is awesome. I am looking forward to testing them all out. New software is very cool! 😀

  2. Well deserved – I’m happy for you. That Nik Collection is going to be great fun. I have been wanting the silver effex – or any of them – but so far haven’t been able to afford it. You’re someone who can put them to good use, so I’m really glad you won.

    • Hey, appreciate it! 🙂 Yes, it is nice software, but pricey! I will definitely use it. I have not received the email yet to download, but I have been checking for it regularly! After I play around with it, I will post some of the images I experimented on to give an idea of what it can do! 🙂

  3. I am so happy for you, Jennifer. Looking forward to seeing the results of your Nik Collection. About your photograph, your creativity is simply exploding. I chuckled over the suspended flower, and loved it at the same time.

    • Thank you very much, Dave! 🙂 Those flowers are very aromatic–unbelievable how good they smell. I had several in a vase and my entire study smelled like them. I think I was a bit drunk off the smell, lol.

Discuss

