Winter Blues

Well, it is that time of year. I have the winter blues. I know some do not believe this condition exists, but trust me, it does. For years, I would just suffer through them, silently. Today, at least I have the comfort of being able to assign a name to this emotional flu that lasts for a few months every year.

0SL-shallots-1

It usually starts for me in January. The first symptom is that I become forgetful. I forget how to spell words and then I just forget words. The other night, I forgot the word “connotation.” It was the next word in my sentence, but for the life of me, I couldn’t remember it. Food doesn’t agree much with me, either. I have an appetite, but I regret almost everything I eat because it gives me a bellyache or heartburn.

0SL-shallots-5a

0SL-shallots-8

They always lift in April. I try to keep that in mind. I try to be a little kinder to people. I wonder if they have the winter blues too, and maybe some kindness will make them feel better. If not, it makes me feel better just to be a little kinder, more empathetic, because my own emotional sensitivity reminds me that it is important.

0SL-shallots-2I usually buy a new piece of furniture, paint a room, redecorate. Make the place where I live a little more cheerful. I watch more movies. My favorites tend to be mafia movies or romantic dramas. I try to get out of the house or call someone I haven’t talked to for a long time. I make a schedule for something and follow it. It can be anything, like cleaning a room every day or a bookcase, reorganizing closets or cabinets. I plan a vacation, preferably where it is warm and sunny. I read genre fiction, a mystery or something light and easy. I find something new to study. 0SL-shallots-7

Like shallots.

27 thoughts on “Winter Blues

  1. I remember those days. I’d tell you that’s why I moved to Florida, but that would be a lie. Love these shots! Would never have thought to use onions to give such an awesome color contrast and interesting shape…

  2. I know exactly what you are talking about ! I always whish I could go into hibernation like a bear or so, snuggeled up in bed, no eating or drinking, just sleeping so that when it is time to live again in Spring you can eat as much as you like cos you lost a lot of your weight over Winter…Nice pictures by the way but I miss your most beautiful model or is she in hibernation perhaps ???

  3. Have you tried light therapy? It was ‘prescribed’ for me by a psychiatrist. I’ve used my HappyLite for seven years now October to end March. It works wonders. You need a large light of at least 1000 luxe. They can be expensive, but really worth it.

    • Huh … No but I will look into it. Thanks for the idea. I know I need to get outside more, even if it is cold, but I am just a wuss when the weather drops below 60F. I spend a lot of time outdoors every other time of year except for this one. I am going to get out a bit this morning. Maybe bring my camera and just bundle up!

    • Haha! I love blueberries, if you haven’t noticed! ;D Oh and I figured out why my film was messed up. Went to develop another roll yesterday and the same thing happened–it’s like it was opaque instead of translucent? Praise Be to Google because a quick search informed me the fix was bad and that I may even be able to save them by re-fixing. Don’t know about all that, but I’m going to try it.

  4. Love these – would never have thought of suspending something into a shot, let alone onions! Really adds a nice light-hearted edge to the image. Good luck with the Winter blues – there’s light at the end of the grey fuzz. That’s what I keep telling myself.

    • Hey, Richard, thanks! I know there is light at the end of the grey, but for now, my shutter speed just keeps getting slower and slower. It will be nice when I can start speeding it up a bit. 🙂

  5. Leighton gets this, too. He seems to be doing well this winter (fingers crossed). I think that is because we have had more sunny days than normal for this time of year. That really helps, as the long, GREY Ohio winter is what brings him down. I suffer from chronic depression, so I empathize with both of you. Also, I love your photos in this series. They cheered me up!

    • Good to hear he is doing well! We have had a very grey winter, but not as bad as a few years ago –it was just awful. Yes, I wanted to make this scene cheerful–it makes me feel better to idealize it.

Discuss

