Horned Melon

Nikon D800, Nikkor 105mm, horned melon, still life, photography, jennifer koe

***Nikon D800, Nikkor 105mm, horned melon, still life, photography, jennifer koe

***Nikon D800, Nikkor 105mm, horned melon, still life, photography, jennifer koe

***Nikon D800, Nikkor 105mm, horned melon, still life, photography, jennifer koe

***Nikon D800, Nikkor 105mm, horned melon, still life, photography, jennifer koe

***Nikon D800, Nikkor 105mm, horned melon, still life, photography, jennifer koe

***Nikon D800, Nikkor 105mm, horned melon, still life, photography, jennifer koe

The Mystery Still was a horned melon. I saw it at the grocery store a few days ago, and thought I would give it a try. It is a cute little fruit, extremely juicy, but also very seedy. I found it easiest to suck the pulp out of it, seeds and all. It tastes a bit like a banana crossed with a tart cucumber. Mild and fresh. The pulp is beady and surprisinglyย resilient.

It was an interesting fruit to photograph, but the sun did not cooperate today at all. Very overcast and dark. Yesterday, I had a little more light, but I only photographed the exterior. Today I cut the melon open. I had to experiment some to get the light I needed. Lots of slow shutter speeds on the tripod. Normally I use my timer too because the camera still moves a little when I press the release. It allowed me to play with the blinds while I was waiting for the second shot. I would take one with the blinds up then pull them down or out or to the side or add a reflector for the second shot.

Happy New Year!

It’s a good day to just lie around and read a book or play video games. Think that’s what I’ll do.

 

28 thoughts on “Horned Melon

  1. Hi Jennifer,

    Love these pictures. I particularly love the second shot (the black and white one) because there is no context to it. You can’t tell what it is, there’s an unknown, almost alien quality to it. Anyway, these are exceptional photos.

    Chris

Discuss

