Savoy Cabbage

Macro, Nikon D800, AF Micro Nikkor 60mm 2.8D, savoy cabbage, photography, still life, jennifer koe

Macro, Nikon D800, AF Micro Nikkor 60mm 2.8D, savoy cabbage, photography, still life, jennifer koe

Macro, Nikon D800, AF Micro Nikkor 60mm 2.8D, savoy cabbage, photography, still life, jennifer koe

Macro, Nikon D800, AF Micro Nikkor 60mm 2.8D, savoy cabbage, photography, still life, jennifer koe

Macro, Nikon D800, AF Micro Nikkor 60mm 2.8D, savoy cabbage, photography, still life, jennifer koe

Macro, Nikon D800, AF Micro Nikkor 60mm 2.8D, savoy cabbage, photography, still life, jennifer koe

Macro, Nikon D800, AF Micro Nikkor 60mm 2.8D, savoy cabbage, photography, still life, jennifer koe

Macro, Nikon D800, AF Micro Nikkor 60mm 2.8D, savoy cabbage, photography, still life, jennifer koe

The Mystery Still was a Savoy Cabbage. I thoroughly enjoyed photographing it. The magnificent texture of the veins,  the extraordinary detail of the tiny nodules, and the dainty leaf ruffles.

This series was sort of a test drive for my new lens–a AF Micro Nikkor 60mm 2.8D. This is the lens I bought to replace my 40mm, which was a DX. So far, I am very pleased with it. Sharp as a tack, fairly easy to manually focus, soft background with smaller aperture numbers. I don’t really have any complaints about it so far. One thing I have noticed, but which didn’t cause any issues yesterday, is that the lens is buried very deep. It’s almost as if there’s already a hood on it. I can see how this could be problematic for certain types of creative lighting effects, especially outdoors, but maybe not, and I’m sure it can be worked around if necessary. I’m looking forward to using it on my 35mm too. I have been stuck with a 50mm on that camera, which is fine, but this lens will allow me to do more things. It has a nice flexibility that way, which is what I enjoyed so much about the 40mm.

22 thoughts on “Savoy Cabbage

    • Yes, it was interesting to photograph for that reason. At times it looked reptilian, anatomical, scientific, and even the one leaf reminds me of a tree. It was very interesting, definitely! 🙂

      • Yes, me too. I like subjects that are somehow … ambiguous. Most of the time when I am going through images and selecting, the ones I toss out are “too ordinary.” They can be fine in every other respect–lighting, composition, but they have to go if they are too ordinary. LOL

  1. I love both the color and the B/W –can’t decide which I prefer– and I don’t particularly care for cabbage! The previous comment is obviously very true: it’s all about perception and interpretation of course. Really beautifully interpreted and executed.

    • Thank you very much! I like cabbage as long as it cooked a certain way. My mom makes cabbage rolls, which are TDF. It really has to be seasoned correctly for me, though. Hope you are enjoying the weekend!

Discuss

