Blog Announcements

New Backdrop & Stand!

New Backdrop & Stand!

1. I have a new backdrop and stand! I was supposed to get this weeks ago, but the company I ordered from took their sweet time. Anyway, I’m happy to have it. It will be very convenient for photographing bodybuilders next season. It is also portable and it took me less than 15 minutes to assemble–probably wouldn’t have taken that long, but they gave me no instructions whatsoever and I am not really the “assembly” type. I’m thinking with practice it should take ten minutes, tops. It will solve a few issues in my study. I always have to work around this nook, which is a bit narrow. The backdrop stand extends to 15 feet. The white backdrop in this photo is 10 feet across. I have enough room to extend it the full 15. This will give me six extra feet to work with, which is nice. I plan on getting a nice wider lens this winter, maybe a 28mm. Plus, I can take the backdrop with me places, and I will be able to do different kinds of outdoor shoots. So, it was a good investment. I’m happy with it.

2. I have canned the Christmas story. I just can’t get into it.

3. I have been thinking about doing a 2013 calendar with photos of Cuddles. I would have to get it done pretty soon, though. I was thinking that I would offer it for sale and donate all the profit to a pitbull rescue–so it would be a non-profit venture. I’m not sure yet how to go about it, but I am going to contact a few people and see if a plan comes together. I took Cuddles for a little walk this morning. Unfortunately, Cuddles is not a “morning dog.” In fact, she is still sleeping right now. She wakes up early to go to the bathroom, but then she goes right back to sleep … and she usually sleeps in until about noon. Then she gets up and wants to eat.

4. Today, I am headed to the darkroom to work on my final project. I will post my final project on the blog after it is turned in and graded. I am kinda excited about it. It’s a different thing for me, sort of–it’s photos, but also an “object.” I may explore it more this winter if I enjoy doing it. Yesterday, I printed a few of the camp photos. That’s what I will be working on today too.

That’s all.

30 thoughts on “Blog Announcements

  1. Ironing that backdrop is going to be such a hassle… thats why I don’t use mine as often as I’d like to!! Do you have a solution to this problem? or are you just patient? 🙂

  2. Hi, I had been out for some time, for I was under pressure…not by my work but my wish. Now I feel so free. Congratulations to your backdrop! It is really a nice photo studio. And the floor is so clean and polished…do you make the room so clean by yourself?

    • Hey, it is nice to see you again! 🙂 I was just thinking about you earlier. Strange … Anyway, I have to clean the floors daily with Cuddles. She hangs out in my study all the time and she can be messy. I usually do the floors in the morning while she’s sleeping in because she hates the broom and mop.

      • Ah, she wants to be with you every time, how cute she is! Have a nice weekend and a beautiful beginning of the new month, and the last month of the year!

  3. Congrats on the backdrop & stand! I ,as you already well know, would buy the heck out of a 2013 Cuddles Calendar, for two reasons. 1) I am obsessed with calendars (if you ever visit me, you will understand what I mean) and 2) Cuddles is the cutest dog on the planet (other than mine). 🙂 I cannot wait to see your final project. It’s hard to believe that you are at the end of your class already.

    • The backdrop will come in handy! 🙂 I know, the fall semester has really flown by! This next week is going to be hectic, just getting things together, but hopefully, I will have time to finish the Cuddles Calendar by Christmas. Wish I had thought of the idea sooner, but well, inspiration is spontaneous and has a mind of its own.

  4. Like your backdrop -lucky you! Do you every spend time looking at the works of great portrait photographers? I like Alfred Newman – he didn’t photograph many body builders but he was a master at lighting and I can see some of his techniques being useful for the kind of thing you plan to do. Haven’t been following anybody during my absence, but am really enjoying catching up with you.

    • The backdrop will come in handy, and I will definitely use it! I do spend time looking at other photographer’s work. I will have to look up Alfred Newman … thank you for the suggestion as well as for visiting today!

      • Oops! Did I say Alfred? it’s Arnold. He is kind of the father of the environmental portrait and his creativity is a marvel. I did portrait photography for years and “retired” from that before I ever saw his work. Wish I ad seen his stuff back when I needed to. And as great as his compositional creativity was, his lighting techniques are just as awesome.

      • I looked him up and thank you for making the suggestion! I really loved the portraits, especially Chagall, Capote, and Woody Allen. His early work is very interesting too–much different subject matter.

Discuss

