Santa Thumb

Christmas isn’t a season. It’s a feeling.
–Edna Ferber

The doorbell rang.

I crossed the foyer and parted the lace curtain. I flinched. A pink snout? Someone was holding it up in the air, pressing its fuzzy white cheek against the glass. I opened the door. “What the—”

“Sorry to startle you.” The guy tucked the tiny pig under his arm. “Found this pig in the road. Is she yours?” Over his shoulder, an 80’s model van idled in my driveway. A prism dangling from its rearview caught the last beam of daylight and shot a hundred florescent daggers into my eyes.

Dazed, I shook my head. This was too weird… Only a few people knew about my obsession for teacup pigs, and they thought it was a joke. They had no idea how much time I spent crawling mini-pig websites, downloading photos, learning their unique behaviors.

I lifted the piglet’s chin gently. Her belly swelled and she let out an adorable squeal. The guy dropped her into the crook of my elbow. Her hooves were caked with mud. She needed a bath. Even her shivers were dainty. Fine white lashes curled above her black nascent eyes.

I looked up. “It’s my daughter’s pig,” I lied shamelessly.

“Cool,” he said, hiking up a thumb. It wore a costume. The skin had been marked with two black dots for eyes and a long cotton beard dangled below a squiggled smile. A teeny red hat with a white ball topped off the ensemble.

He patted the piglet’s head, spun around, and vanished into my yard.

“Wait!” I said.

“Merry Christmas,” he shouted, raising the thumb.

I stood on the porch, bouncing my piglet, wondering how I’d explain her to my husband. He’d never believe this. Then the sound of wind escaped, as if a valve had been twisted in the sky; a contortion of tiny specks shimmered ephemerally, and snow began to fall.

 The End

Inspired by …

39 thoughts on “Santa Thumb

  1. cute short story. I didn’t even know there were such animals as teacup pigs. I liked the blocking and the descriptions. This was well written. Good job!

    • Hi there! The breed is fairly new, and many that are sold as teacups are not true teacups. A real teacup will be under 20 lbs full grown. Thanks for dropping in! On my way to read yours very soon! :)

  2. How whimsical and fun to read. I love the description of the 80s van, complete with the prism and her quick decision to lie so she could keep the pig :)

  3. Awww. I would lie and keep the pig too! I like the santa thumb… the whole situation seems like one of those half-magical wish-fulfilment moments. For instance, I have no doubt that, if she did post ‘found pig’ signs, i don’t think anyone would show up.

    • Hey there! I think a lot of my writing is wish-fulfillment, in one way or another. Even negative stuff: frightening, remorseful, shameful, or full of sorrow–there’s a wish to expose it so that it loses its power. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment! :)

    • There are photos of baby ones that are so tiny they fit inside a teacup! I think they max out at 15 lbs full grown. They are also very intelligent! They can be litter trained and even learn to do tricks. :)

    • Thanks! :) Yeah, my favorite part about Christmas is that it invites one to use a little imagination. Any other time of the year, whimsey is called impulsive, and magic is just coincidence.

  4. wonderful. full of wonder i mean. perfect christmas type-ing. love the way you give me prism and the shimmering breakup. also the tiny piglet picture. smileful.

Comments are closed.